Category Archives: Sport

Munster Junior Girls E Cup Final

Junior ladies football team

Scoil Mhuire Ballingeary 3-14 Mary Immaculate Lisdoonvarna 1-5

Mary Immaculate’s junior ladies footballers recently reached their first ever Munster Final against Scoil Mhuire Ballingeary which was played in Mannix College GAA pitch in Charleville.  Mary Immaculate, captained by Lizzy Roche, worked tirelessly in the first half and secured a two point lead at the break.  However, Ballingeary found their stride in the second half and emerged as decisive winners on the day.  The final score line does not reflect how well the much younger Mary Immaculate side played with a never say die attitude until the final whistle.

Continue reading

TY Wheelchair Munster Blitz

Wheelchair basketball

The TY’s from Mary Immaculate along with twelve other schools from Munster recently took part in the Munster Blitz for post primary secondary schools.  Well done to all the students who took part on the day.

Ladies Football First Year Blitz

First year blitz

The first year girls team defeated Kilmihil and St. Caimins 2 in their group games of the Clare post primary 1st year blitz which took place in Eire Óg GAA grounds recently.  These victories put them into the semi-final against Colaiste Mhuire 2 which resulted in the girls claiming a spot in the final against St. Caimins 1 and were unlucky in their attempt for success.  Well done to all the girls involved.

Senior Boys through to County Final

Mary Immaculate Secondary School are through to the Clare Senior Final beating Kildysart Community College on a score line of 3-6 to 1-8 in Clarecastle recently. They will play Ennistymon CBS in the final.

The first year blitz is due to take place on May 10th for the boys in that year group.

Best wishes to all of our students representing Clare in the upcoming Munster Minor semi-final v Kerry.

Success for Lisdoonvarna in First Year Football Blitz

First Year blitz winners

Mary Immaculate Secondary School Lisdoonvarna participated in 1st year 9-aside blitz played on the astro-turf in Kildysart on Wednesday the 24th of February. Games of this nature will help develop and improve not only players handling and kicking but their teamwork and confidence on the ball also. Each game was 12 minutes a half. Unlimited substitution was allowed and the entire panel contributed to a well deserved victory in each of the rounds. Up first were Spanish Point, then John Bosco Kildysart, which set up a final against CBS Ennistymon who themselves had gone unbeaten during the day. However a spirited first half paved the way for victory.  Clare Coaching Development Officer John Enright presented training tops to the successful panel afterwards.

Panel included: Killian Burke, Callum Dobbins Catto, Patrick Doherty, Daniel Fogarty, Tommy Garrihy, Jason Geraghty, Denis O’Callaghan, Gearoid Howley, Rael O’Connor, Eoin Guerin, Matthew Sheedy, Thomas Roche, Sean McNamara, Eoin McNamara, Diarmuid O’Donoghue, Oisin O’Loughlin, Sean Casserly and Dylan Egan.


Win Against Kenmare CS

Congratulations to the senior boys football team for their win against Kenmare Community School. The match took place in Rathkeale on Wednesday and ended with a score of 4:12 to 1:9. They will continue on to the Munster semi-final.

Junior Ladies Win Against Ennis CC

Congratulations to our Junior Ladies Football team for their win against Ennis Community College in a game filled with “end to end action!” The final score was 9-11 to 8-06.

The team included:
Lizzy Roche, Clodagh Danaher, Holly O’Flaherty, Aimee Burke, Kate Considine, Saoirse O’Brien, Sally King, Sarah Nagle, Katie Thomas, Jane Barrett, Laura Griffey, Latisha Carr, Áine Connole, Róisín McNamara, Emma Healy, Norah O’Dwyer, Eva Harrington, Ruth Costello, Lisa Shannon, Áine Brennan, Sarah McNamara, Orlaith Petty & Róisín Roche.

U16 Win Against Beara

Congratulations to our U16 football team today against Beara Community School winning on a score of 3:12 to 3:10. Thanks to Mr. Conway and selectors Pat Harrington and Frank Sheedy.

The panel: Simon Keane, Rowan Danaher, Colm OBrien, Cathal Guerin, Joe McGann, Denis McMahon, Jonah Culligan, Pádraig Kelly, , Jack Sheedy, Darren Gray, Cian Burke, Nicholas Dunne, Evan Barrett, Eoin Petty, Niall McNamara, Aaron OBrien, Sen Urquhart , Aidan McNamara, Michael Garrihy, Cillian Blood, Cian Burke.