Monthly Archives: March 2016

Art at Féile na hInse and Community Games

Aoife Dowling (2nd year) was a winner in the Art section of Feile na hInse. The competition celebrates Artistic skill and endeavour through the promotion of the Irish language.

Another second year Laura Haugh is the County winner of the Community Games ART Competition. She received her winning medal from the community games committee last week and is looking forward to her further participation at regional and national level.
Congratulation Laura and best of luck for the next stage.

All second and first year students have participated in an anti-drug Art Competition run by the HSE. The aim of the project was to engage students in creating awareness towards the destruction caused by alcohol and drug addiction.

Continue reading

CEIST Student Leadership Conference 2016

A group of eight students travelled to St Patricks College Drumcondra to take part in the second national Student Leadership Conference on the 15th of March. The focus of the day was the promotion of Youth leadership within our CEIST schools and for the future. The event began with a dramatisation to mark Proclamation Day by students from Presentation School Thurles.

The Students spent the morning engaged with a variety of student workshops session. Themes like “Building student leadership” in CEIST schools and “Leadership in Catholic Schools” were developed and ideas were shared.

The afternoon session involved a presentation on leadership by the youngest member of the present 32nd Dáil, Mr. Jack Chambers TD. He took questions from a packed auditorium.

The students that attended the conference were Eimear Thynne, Ellen O’Loughlin, Olivia Leneghan, Denis McMahon, Nicholas Dunne, Aaron O’Brien, Colm O’Brien and Darren Gray. They were accompanied by their religion teacher Shane Slattery.

Continue reading

Féile na hInse

Féile na hInse - Grúpa Ceol - 2016

Comhgairdeas do na daltaí ó Scoil Mhuire gan Smál i Lios Dúin Bhearna a ghlac páirt i bhFéile na hInse in Inis le déanaí. Bhuaigh an grúpa ceoil a gcomórtas ar an 5ú Márta. Bhí an moltóir an sásta leo agus dúradh go raibh draíocht ag baint lena gcuid ceoil! B’iad na daltaí a bhí i gceist ná Ellen O’Loughlin, Éimear Thynne, Keith Dowling, Róisín O’Donoghue, Ellen King, Jane O’Loughlin, Kate Considine, Laura Haugh, Sarah Nagle, Aimeé Burke, Emma Kelly, Saoirse O’Brien, Sally King, Sarah McNamara, Aoife McNamara, Róisín McNamara, Órlaith Petty, Emma Healy, Aine Connole, Laura Griffey, Bláithnaid Marsh, Grace Cassidy. Comhgairdeas leo ar fad!

Ghlac Ciarán/Conor/Ava agus Jack páirt sa chomortas popghrúpa. Mhol an moltóir an glór iontach a bhí ag Conor. Bhuaigh siad an dara áit.

Proclamation Day

Irish Flag being raised by John Flaherty

On 15th April schools throughout Ireland marked Proclamation day by raising the Irish flag and reading the Proclamation. In Mary Immaculate Secondary School, Lisdoonvarna the Proclamation was read aloud by Dylan Egan and Eva Harrington. The flag was raised by ex-army officer John Flaherty. After the flag raising the school sang and played Amhrán na bhFiann with the help of Martin Conway another ex-army officer.

Continue reading

Flag Presentation in Croke Park

5th Year students Colm O'Brien, Myra McNamara, Niamh Reilly and Ben Kenneally at flag ceremony at Croke Park

5th Year students Colm O’Brien, Myra McNamara, Niamh Reilly and Ben Kenneally at flag ceremony at Croke Park

On the 7th March 2016, four students from the school travelled to Croke Park to attend the state flag presentation ceremony where second level schools were presented with an Irish flag and with a hand carved flag base and pole. They also received a copy of the Proclamation in Irish and in English. The event was organised by the Thomas F. Meagher foundation. The president of Ireland, Michael D. Higgins inspected a Guard of Honour before addressing the 6000 students and teachers that attended the event. Photos of the event can be seen at

The Thomas F. Meagher foundation was partnered with the Department of an Taoiseach and the Department of Arts, Heritage & the Gaeltacht for this ceremony. The foundation was set up in honour of Thomas Francis Meagher who first flew the Irish tricolour in 1848. The Thomas F. Meagher foundation aims to promote pride in and respect for the Irish flag and its true meaning for peace on this island.

The school was represented by 5th year history students Colm O’Brien, Myra McNamara, Niamh Reilly, Ben Kenneally and teacher John Sims.

BSTAI Certificate of Achievement

Eoin Burke and Anne Keane Egan at BSTAI Awards 2016

Eoin Burke and Anne Keane Egan at BSTAI Awards 2016

Congratulations to Eoin Burke on receiving a Certificate of Achievement for his excellent results in Business Studies Junior Certificate exam 2015 from The Kemmy Business School, University of Limerick in conjunction with the Business Studies Teachers’ Association of Ireland on the 9th March 2016.